Robinhood and Ripple Partner to Expand RLUSD Stablecoin Payments and Trading
Ripple says RLUSD exceeds $2.4 billion as it expands ties with Robinhood, which has 28.6 million funded customers. Read what is live, what is planned and how the deal affects settlement.

On this page
Ripple's RLUSD stablecoin has passed $2.4 billion in market capitalisation, the company said on 27 October 2026. It announced a partnership with Robinhood, which reported 28.6 million funded customers at the end of August.
The agreement covers stablecoin access, institutional settlement and corporate treasury operations. RLUSD is already available on Robinhood Chain and Bitstamp by Robinhood. Its launch inside the main Robinhood app remains planned for later in 2026.
The companies also plan to expand their existing institutional trading relationship. The announcement did not disclose the deal's value or a firm retail app launch date.
What did Ripple and Robinhood announce?
The 27 October announcement covers three business areas. They are RLUSD distribution and settlement, Ripple Treasury software, and institutional services through Ripple Prime.
| Business area | Announced arrangement | Status on 27 October 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| RLUSD on Robinhood Chain | Stablecoin availability | Live, according to Ripple |
| RLUSD on Bitstamp | Stablecoin availability | Live, according to Ripple |
| RLUSD in Robinhood app | Consumer access | Planned for later in 2026 |
| RLUSD settlement on XRP Ledger | Bitstamp institutional settlement | Announced integration |
| Ripple Treasury | Robinhood cash and liquidity operations | Integration planned |
| Ripple Prime | Lending, margin finance and trading access | Existing services; expansion planned |
This distinction matters for customers. A product available through Bitstamp is not automatically available in the Robinhood app. A planned integration is not the same as a completed rollout.
RLUSD is live on Bitstamp and Robinhood Chain
Ripple said RLUSD was already live on both services when the partnership was announced. It expects Robinhood's main app to add the token later in 2026. The companies did not provide a specific launch day.
Robinhood completed its acquisition of Bitstamp in June 2025. The exchange brought institutional customers and operations across several markets. It also became an important part of Robinhood's international digital-asset business.
RLUSD is designed to track the US dollar. It is not XRP, Ripple's separate digital asset. Businesses should confirm the supported token and network before making transfers.
Institutional settlement on the XRP Ledger
Robinhood plans to use RLUSD on the XRP Ledger for institutional settlement through Bitstamp. The stablecoin would become part of completing certain institutional transactions. Ripple described the arrangement as an expansion of its existing relationship.
A blockchain transaction and a customer's final cash payment are different stages. Conversion and bank disbursement can take additional time. The announcement did not establish new fiat payout corridors or fees.
Robinhood plans to adopt Ripple Treasury
The partnership extends beyond cryptocurrency trading. Robinhood plans to integrate Ripple Treasury into its financial operations. The system is designed to manage cash and liquidity.
The proposed work also includes payments and cash-flow forecasting. Risk management and intercompany netting are part of the plan. Netting can reduce transfers between related business units.
These are corporate treasury functions. They are not proof that every Robinhood customer can already use RLUSD. The retail app launch remains planned for later in 2026.
Ripple Prime expands institutional trading links
Ripple Prime already provides lending and margin financing to Bitstamp by Robinhood. Ripple says the services cover about 20 digital assets. Prime clients can also access spot trading through Bitstamp.
The partners plan to add perpetual futures later in 2026. That expansion was not announced as live. Perpetual futures are derivatives without a fixed expiry date.
These services mainly target professional market participants. Retail eligibility and product availability will differ. Customers should check the specific service terms.
How big are RLUSD and Robinhood?
Ripple said RLUSD had crossed $2.4 billion in market capitalisation. It also said the broader stablecoin market exceeded $300 billion. Both figures were reported in the October 27 announcement.
Robinhood recorded 28.6 million funded customers in August 2026. That compared with 26.7 million a year earlier. Those are Robinhood customers, not RLUSD holders.
Robinhood also reported $17.5 billion in monthly crypto trading volume for August. Bitstamp contributed $10.1 billion. The Robinhood app accounted for $7.4 billion.
That crypto volume rose 61% from July. It fell 38% from August 2025. Trading volume does not measure RLUSD settlement activity.
What the figures do not show
Robinhood's total customer base does not show demand for RLUSD. The partnership release did not disclose the token's expected app adoption. It also did not provide a transaction-volume forecast.
The parties disclosed no deal value or revenue projection. Future commercial gains remain uncertain. Actual usage will matter more than a product announcement.
Why the partnership matters
Stablecoins have often been used to move funds between cryptocurrency trading venues. This agreement also targets payments and corporate cash management. Ripple wants RLUSD used across more financial workflows.
Bitstamp contributes an existing institutional exchange platform. Robinhood brings a large retail distribution network. Ripple supplies stablecoin, treasury and financing services.
Together, the services could support additional RLUSD use. But a planned integration is not guaranteed adoption. The announced services must first become available to their intended users.
What does the deal mean for Africa?
The announcement did not name a new payout corridor in Kenya, Nigeria or South Africa. It did not promise mobile-money or bank payouts in those countries. Nor did it confirm worldwide access to the Robinhood app's planned RLUSD feature.
That distinction matters for African businesses. Receiving a stablecoin is not the same as receiving local fiat. Conversion, beneficiary checks and payout infrastructure remain necessary.
Our USDT versus USDC analysis explains the same settlement problem. Businesses would need to verify RLUSD support separately. An issuer announcement does not establish local cash-out coverage.
For regional context, see Finlazo's stablecoins in Africa research. It examines cryptocurrency's role in payments and financial infrastructure. This particular Robinhood agreement has no confirmed Africa-specific rollout in the release.
What remains unconfirmed?
Robinhood has not announced an exact RLUSD launch date for its main app. The companies have not listed every eligible country. Product fees and retail availability are also not fully detailed.
Ripple did not publish a settlement-volume target for Bitstamp. The Treasury integration has no disclosed savings forecast. Expanded perpetual futures support remains a future plan.
What happens next?
The most visible milestone will be RLUSD's arrival inside the main Robinhood app. Institutional adoption on the XRP Ledger is another measure. Ripple Treasury's deployment will show how the corporate plans develop.
Customers should look for official notices on fees and networks. They should also check local eligibility. A partnership announcement is not a substitute for the final product terms.
The bottom line
Ripple and Robinhood have expanded their relationship across stablecoins, treasury and trading. RLUSD is already available on Robinhood Chain and Bitstamp, according to Ripple. The main Robinhood app launch remains planned for later in 2026.
The $2.4 billion RLUSD market capitalisation and 28.6 million Robinhood funded customers show the scale of the announcement. Neither figure proves future RLUSD adoption. Live usage will be the stronger measure.
Sources and reporting notes
Reviewed 27 October 2026. The article distinguishes existing services from future plans. Market and customer figures reflect dated disclosures.
- Ripple, 27 October 2026 — Robinhood partnership announcement: RLUSD, settlement, treasury, Prime services and market capitalisation.
- Robinhood — August 2026 operating data: funded customers and crypto volumes.
- Robinhood — Bitstamp acquisition completed: acquisition background.
The release provides no confirmed Africa-specific rollout or final consumer app launch date. This article is general financial reporting, not investment advice.


